Council makes board appointments


The new Airdrie City council held its first organizational meeting Oct. 30 during which it approved councillor appointments to the City’s various committees and boards.

The Mayor and all six councillors sit on the Council Budget Committee and the Emergency Advisory Committee, which works with Airdrie’s first responders in the case of a city-wide emergency – such as a fire or train derailment – to ensure the safety of residents.

Mayor Peter Brown will sit on the Calgary Regional Partnership (CRP) Executive, the Intermunicipal Committee and the Intermunicipal Joint Use Agreement Committee. He will also be a member of the Airdrie Housing Limited (AHL) board and sit as one of three council members on the Airdrie Main Street Square (AMSQ) board.

Sitting on the Airdrie Library Board will be Deputy Mayor Candice Kolson and Coun. Tina Petrow.

Kolson will also chair the Municipal Police Advisory Board (MPAB) and the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board. She will sit on the CRP as an alternate and on the Intermunicipal Committee along with Brown.

Petrow will sit on the CSAB and on the Inter-City Social Policy Forum, as well as on the board of AMSQ and as an alternate to the Intermunicipal Committee.

Kolson, Coun. Kelly Hegg and Coun. Ron Chapman will sit on the joint council/library board steering committee established at council’s July 4 meeting to oversee planning for a new library facility.

Hegg will also chair the Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) and sit on the Intermunicipal Joint Use Agreement Committee. Chapman will join Brown on the AHL board and sit on the Rockyview Foundation board. He will be vice chair of both the MPC and the MPAB.

Coun. Darrell Belyk will chair the Community Standards Advisory Board (CSAB), and continue to serve as vice chair of the Environmental Advisory Board (EAB). He will also sit as a member of the MPAB.

New councillor Al Jones will be vice chair of the CSAB and chair of the EAB, a board he has served on as a public member for many years.

He will also be an alternate member of the Rockyview Foundation board and sit on the AMSQ board.


About Author