Election draws large number of candidates


By the time nominations closed at noon Sept. 18, 28 residents had stepped forward to run for a position on Airdrie city council.

A total of five individuals have chosen to run for the mayor’s seat, including incumbent Mayor Peter Brown and current Deputy Mayor Fred Burley. Rounding out those running for the top seat are Blaine Astra, Bernie Biever and Marie Lauer.

This is in sharp contrast to the last municipal election in 2013, when Brown was acclaimed after no one stepped forward to challenge him.

The councillor positions will be hotly contested with 23 candidates vying for six seats.

All of the incumbent councillors are running for re-election: Candice Kolson, Ron Chapman, Allan Hunter, Darrell Belyk and Kelly Hegg.

There are a few familiar faces running for council for a second or third time, hoping to be successful this time around, including Mike De Bokx, Richard Douglas Herdman and Mo Benini.

Newcomers to the race for one of those coveted councillor seats include well-known community members as well as some fresh faces.

Al Jones, Chris Gourlie, Tina Petrow, Daria Skibington-Roffel and Shelley Bitz are well-known in the community for their many volunteer activities on behalf of a wide variety of social agencies and local charities.

Rounding out the list of candidates is Nicole Proseilo, Charlotte Blackwell, Trevor Dziaduck, Serge Desrochers, Tim Lowing, Rick Northey, Tanveer Ahmad Taj, Rachael Sasha Mercedes, Lindsey Coyle and Brenda McIntosh-Doell.

Residents will vote for up to six candidates for councillor and one for mayor during the Oct. 16 election. Polling stations will be set up at Genesis Place Recreation Centre, the Airdrie Town and Country Centre and the Rocky View Schools Education Centre. Voting takes place between 6:30 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Advance polls will be held at Council Chambers in City Hall Sept. 30 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and Oct. 11 from 5 to 8 p.m.

To be eligible to vote, residents must be 18 years of age or older and a Canadian citizen. They must also have resided in Alberta for six consecutive months immediately preceding election day and be a resident of Airdrie on election day. Identification will be required at the polling stations.

For more information about the election and about the candidates, visit airdrie.ca


About Author