The best Hall of Fame class


The announcement of a new Hall of Fame class in any of North America’s four major sports always stirs up excitement, but none was as dynamic and game changing as the addition of the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame.

During the NFL Honours award show Feb. 3, seven of the most deserving figures in football were recognized – and will forever have their contributions immortalized in the hallowed halls in Canton, Ohio.

Among this year’s enshrined athletes were three players who made the Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility (Randy Moss, Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher); one of the more underappreciated safetys of the 90s and 2000s, Brian Dawkins; and one of the most polarizing receivers in the game, Terrell Owens, who will finally make his way to Canton after three years of eligibility.

In addition to the five modern-era stars from the late 90s and 2000s, Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer will be included as senior committee nominees alongside Bobby Beathard, who will be immortalized as a contributor.

As a fan of the Minnesota Vikings, I am so happy to see one of the most dominant receivers I grew up watching and idolizing make it to the Hall of Fame as quickly as Randy Moss has. On top of that, I think this class might go down in history as the very best class to be added to the Hall of Fame at one time.

In recent years, no other class has had as much star power on and off the field.

When I started getting into football as a kid, I was looking for a team to cheer for south of the border – and as a seven-year-old, I found it easy to get behind a team as dominant as the 15-1 Vikings were in the 1997-98 season. Unfortunately, the Vikes were unable to come away with a Super Bowl win that year – and still haven’t managed to bring home the honour – but I definitely believe if Moss wasn’t as amazing of a player as he was during his time in Minnesota, I would not have become a fan of the team.

Of course, there is always going to be a snub list of players not heading to the hall – guys like John Lynch, Edgerrin James and Isaac Bruce were considered this year. But with a class as good as this year’s and with more superstars emerging and remaining dominant throughout their careers, the snub list is only going to get bigger and more impressive as the years go on.

Kudos Canton, you have selected one hell of a class.


About Author