Skip to content

Candidates revealed for Irricana, Beiseker municipal elections

The proverbial writ has dropped for the upcoming council elections in north Rocky View County’s municipalities.
Irricana and Beiseker voters will head to the polls on Oct. 18 to determine the communities' next councils. File photo/Rocky View Weekly

The proverbial writ has dropped for the upcoming council elections in north Rocky View County’s municipalities.

After the nomination deadline of Sept. 20, candidates were finalized and revealed for the upcoming City, Town and Village council elections that will be held across Alberta on Oct. 18.

In Irricana, 10 residents have put their names forward for the election this year, including four out of five incumbent candidates. Mayor Frank Friesen is running for another term, while Deputy Mayor Kim Schmaltz, Couns. Debbie Day and Jim Bryson are also seeking re-election.

Tracy Shields is the only current councillor in Irricana not aiming for another term.

The other candidates in the race include Anton Van Arendonk, Lisa McAree, Dominic Kirchner, Madison Glass, and Nathaniel Fleming.

According to Town of Irricana Chief Administrative Officer and Deputy Returning Officer Barrie Hutchinson, the Town intends to hold a public all-candidates forum either virtually or in-person, but as of press time, said the municipality's ability to do so is contingent on COVID-19 protocols.

“We've got to make a decision really quick. I really can't confirm anything but we're going to do it one way or the other,” he said on Sept. 23.

Just 10 kilometres north of Irricana, the Village of Beiseker has also revealed its list of candidates for the upcoming election. According to the Village, seven residents will be gunning for five spots on Village council, including four incumbents.

Those seeking re-election include Mayor Warren Wise, and Couns. Karen Ursu, Nikki King, and Victor Lemky. Rounding out the field are Nathaneal Motz, Trevor Snyder and Les Spurgeon.

According to the Village of Beiseker’s assistant chief administrative officer Gail Peckham, the municipality will not be holding a public candidate forum in the lead-up to the election, due to recently announced COVID-19 restrictions.

“Instead, we have asked each candidate to submit their platforms in writing and will include these in our October newsletter and on our website,” Peckham said in an email to the Rocky View Weekly on Sept. 23.

Peckham added Beiseker's mayor will be appointed by a vote among council members during their first organization meeting.

To the west of Irricana and Beiseker, voters in Crossfield will not need to head to the polls on Oct. 18, as all seven registered candidates will be acclaimed. Crossfield’s new Town council will include Kim Harris in the mayor’s seat, current council members Justin Gustafson, Mike Knight and Joanne Cornelssen, and newcomers Jo Lambert, Shawn Vang and Luke Brennan.

According to the Town of Crossfield, the new council will be sworn in Oct. 26, and their first council meeting will be held Nov. 2.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks